• Executive Board

    Executive Director - Kim Medina

    Council President - Linda McPherson

    Treasurer - Larry Barton

    Secretary - Marilyn Vargas 

    Vice Presidents

    Carolyn Cox (Local 95)                

    Carmen Rivera (Local 107)

    Mabel Everett (Local 205)

    Glenn Turnbull (Local 215)

    Carolyn Washington (Local 253)

    Margaret Glover (Local 389)

    Retirees Chapter

    Nancy Hudson

    Important Links
    Visit www.afscme.org!
    Visit www.unionplus.org!
  • Labor Power 50 Recognition
    Posted On: Sep 10, 2018
    Union Strong

    Medina Honored as One of the City’s Influential labor Leaders

    Executive Director Kim Media was recently honored as one of New York City’s “LABOR Power 50” by City and State publications, an influential political publication.  Medina who has been in office under two years was noted for her work to end wage inequities for public center-based child care workers which has gathered strength since her term in office. 

    Medina was honored along with longtime CSEA President Danny Donahue, DC 37 Executive Director Henry Garrido, AFSCME VP and President of Social Service Employees Local 371 Anthony Wells, Teamsters Local 237 President Gregory Floyd and CSEA Region 11 President Lester Crockett among many others. 

    Medina has also stressed that building the union through increasing membership adds potency for obtaining good contracts and provides additional political strength.  Since she was elected in 2016, the union has increased from 19,000 to more than 30,000 members.

    According to City and State’s process of recognition, the …” heart of New York’s economy and politics lies in labor, the city’s workers and union.”

    New York City Comptroller Scott Stringer and President of the New York City Central Labor Council Vincent Alvarez spoke at the event praising the recipients. 

  • District Council 1707, AFSCME

    Copyright © 2019.
    All Rights Reserved.

    Powered By UnionActive

  • Top of Page image